Landmark Classic Horse Sale

The Landmark Classic began in 2008 and has evolved to become Australia’s premier Campdrafting competition and Horse sale. Comprising five feature events and over $200,000 in total cash and prizes it is one of Australia’s richest Campdraft competitions.

Horses aged 5 or under and purchased from a previous Classic sale compete each year for a share in a cash and prize pool worth over $120,000 – including the $40,000 winners cheque.

2019 saw the event enter its twelfth year.  The event runs over nine days, comprising three full days of campdraft competition, before two days of pre-works leading into the main event, four days of auctions and sales.

With the success of the Classic, Landmark has steadily grown its Equine calendar which now includes The Annual Yearling and Broodmare Sale and Incentive Challenge at Toowoomba, along with the Landmark Paradise Lagoons Performance Horse Sale and Incentive Campdraft.

Landmark’s commitment has brought much-needed stability to the Australian Performance Horse Industry.

Previous Results


Winner: Wyatt Young & Nashville Nightman (by Hazelwood Conman)
Marg Hinde, Royce Howard and Jason Bower
2017 for $8,500
Trevor & Vanessa Nash
Cash Prize:

This marked the fourth win for Hazelwood Conman progeny in the Classic in the twelve years since it began.

2019 Landmark Classic Sale Summation

Secret Time & Ben Hall
2018 Landmark Classic Winners: Secret Time (by One Time Royalty) & Ben Hall.  [View 3 round compilation video]

Winner: Ben Hall & Secret Time (by One Time Royalty)
Ken Frost (Beljay Performance Horses)
Sex: Gelding
Purchased: 2015 for $5,500
Vendor: The Sutherland Trust
Cash Prize: $40,000

Sold again in the 2018 Classic Sale for $20,000 to Britnee Breneger.

2018 Landmark Classic Averages


Winner: Brendan Fitzgerald & Bonniedoon Kanya Catolena
Brooke Fitzgerald.
Sex: Stallion
Purchased: 2014 for $7,500
Vendor: Bonniedoon Performance Horse Stud – Peter & Karen Reid
Cash Prize: $40,000

Second Classic win in 10 years for Brendan.

2017 Landmark Classic Averages


Winner: Cal Gibson & Yulgilbar Dance Elegance
 Simcal Trading.
Sex: Mare
Purchased: 2015 for $54,000
Vendor: Myer family principals of Yulgilbar Quarter horse stud
CashPrize: $40,000

2016 Landmark Classic Averages


Winner: Mat Holz & Bulla Tambourine (by Hazelwood Conman)
Peter Aposto
Sex: Mare
Purchased: 2014 for $66,000
Vendor: Mark Ruff, Bulla Lyn ASH stud
Cash Prize: $35,000

This marked the third win for Hazelwood Conman progeny in the Classic in the seven years since it began.

2017 Landmark Classic Averages


Winner: Pat Smyth & Bar None Confession (by Hazelwood Conman)
Sex: Gelding
Purchased: 2013 for $12,500
Vendor: Cameron & Jane Lee
Cash Prize: $35,000

Averages not available.


Winner: Ben McNaughton & The Ranch Jannali
Sex: Gelding
Purchased: 2011 for $6,500.
Vendor: Terry Hillier
Cash Prize: $35,000

Averages not available.


Winner Michael Hiscock Riding Luckenough Horizon
Maffra Syndicate
Sex: Mare
Purchased: 2009  for $8,000
Vendor: Peter Cookson
Cash Prize: $30,000

Luckenough Horizon was again presented for sale by the syndicate at the 2012 sale and sold for $34,000 to Tommy Gallagher, Hunter Valley.


Winner Ian Laurie Riding Whos Catwoman
Purchased: 2010 for $16,000
Vendor: Bob Johnston
Cash Prize: $30,000

2011 Landmark Classic Averages


Winner Brendan Fitzgerald Riding Brenwan Snipette
KR Livestock
Sex: Mare
Purchased: 2009 Sale for $34,000
Vendor: Brenwan Stockhorses
Prize: $30,000

2010 Landmark Classic Averages


Winner Terry Hall Riding Hazelwood Con Air (by Hazelwood Conman)
 Bill and Christine Wild
Sex: Mare
Purchased: 2008 for $17,000
Vendor: TE & CE Hall
Cash Prize: $30,000

2009 Landmark Classic Averages


2008 Landmark Classic Averages

All information in relation to Landmark’s national equine sales and the Landmark Classic can be found on the Landmark website.